1. Orchestral works

Matthew Hindson – Catalogue of Works – Orchestral Works


Homage to Metallica
orchestra incl. solo 1/8 sized violin (1993), 14 minutes

orchestra (1996), 16 minutes
orchestra (1996/8), 6 minutes

orchestra (1996/8), also available for amateur orchestra, also available for concert band, also available for brass band: 4 minutes

orchestra (1998), 8 minutes
Rave-Elation (Schindowski Mix)
orchestra (1998/2003), 14 minutes

Boom Box
orchestra (1999), 4 minutes

orchestra (2001), also for symphonic wind ensemble, also for brass band, 6 minutes

A Symphony of Modern Objects (Symphony No.1)
orchestra (2003), 41 minutes
(excerpt from first movement: “Silicon Revolution”) 

(excerpt from third movement: “Twisted Ladders”) 

orchestra (2003), 5 minutes

Flash Madness
orchestra (2006), 5 minutes

An Infernal Machine
orchestra (2006), 5 minutes

Dangerous Creatures: a suite for orchestra
orchestra (2008), 21 minutes

e=mc2 (Symphony No. 2)
orchestra (2009), 40 minutes

“Energy” from e=mc2
orchestra (2009/2010), 10 minutes

Faster – a ballet inspired by the Olympic logo, “Faster, Higher, Stronger”
orchestra (2012), 34 minutes

The stars above us all
orchestra (2012), 5 minutes

Bright Red Overture
orchestra with jazz tpt soloist and (optional) didjeridu (2013), 6 minutes

Symphony No. 3: The Returned Soldier
orchestra (2014), 25 minutes

orchestra in a non-standard space (2014), 18 minutes


In Memoriam: Amplified Cello Concerto
amplified cello and orchestra (2000), 30 minutes
(excerpt from cello cadenza, first movement)

(excerpt from Lament, first movement) 

(excerpt from opening section of second movement, “Celebration”)

Violin Concerto No. 1: Australian Postcards
violin and orchestra (2000), 27 minutes
(excerpt from opening of third movement (vln/pno reduction))

(excerpt from middle of third movement (vln/orch))

The Rave and the Nightingale
string quartet and string orchestra (2001), 16 minutes

Percussion Concerto
percussion and orchestra (2005), 22 minutes

House Music (Flute Concerto)
solo flute and orchestra (2006), 28 minutes

voice, electric guitar, didjeridu (one player) and orchestra (2007), 22 minutes

Ictalurus Punctatis
amplified cello and orchestra (2008), 7 minutes

Crime and Punishment
for double bass and strings (2011), 12 minutes

for violin and string orchestra (2011), 11 minutes
(excerpt from middle of piece) 

Concerto for Two Pianos
two pianos and orchestra (2011), 24 minutes

Violin Concerto No. 2
for violin, strings and percussion (2014), 24 minutes


Choir + Orchestra

Velvet Dreams
SATB choir and orchestra (1998), 6 minutes

SATB choir and orchestra (1999), 9 minutes

The Blue Alice
SATB choir and orchestra (2000), 6 minutes

It is better to be feared than loved
text by Niccolo Machiavelli
Massed SATB choir and orchestra (2014), 14 minutes